Consumer Council 2018

Members (in the photo from left to right)

Back row: Philippa Hyndman, Judith Holmes (Chair), Diane Strong, Pita Akauola

Front row: Craig Vercoe (Deputy Chair), Angelea Stanton

The seven-member Consumer Council was established in April 2017.

The council provides a strong consumer voice as an advisory group to the Nelson Marlborough District Health Board.

They meet monthly and have a broad scope as consumers are involved in all aspects of health.  The council does not discuss or review issues that are (or should be) processed as formal complaints, or provide clinical evaluation of health services or individual patient care.

Most members of the Council have a three year term, and some have a two year term.  This is to ensure we have some continuity of membership across terms.


Angelea Stanton
Diane Strong
Judith Holmes (Chair)
Craig Vercoe (Deputy Chair)
Pita Akauola
Philippa Hyndman

Consumer Council Annual Report

Vacancy: Health Consumer

Would you like to use your experience as a health consumer or patient to improve health services in the Nelson Marlborough region? We are recruiting to fill a vacant position on the Nelson Marlborough Health Consumer Council.

The Consumer Council provides a strong voice for the community and consumers on health service planning and provision. We are looking for someone who has:

  • A desire to influence the health system to be consumer-centred
  • Experience and some understanding of the whole health system to advocate for consumer interests
  • The ability to co-design health service to improve patients’ experience of services as well as the services themselves
  • Ideally, a network of contacts with other consumer and community groups.

For more information, see our Terms of Reference, email [email protected] or phone Amy Clarke, Consumer Council Facilitator on (03) 539 3799

If you are interested in applying for the role, please complete this application form and email it to [email protected] or post to Amy Clarke, Consumer Council Facilitator, OD Building, Braemar Campus, Private Bag 18, Nelson 7042.

Applications must be received by the Consumer Council Facilitator received by COB Friday 11 January 2019.