The Nelson Marlborough District Health Board comprises seven elected members and four members appointed by the Minister of Health. The board meets monthly in alternate Blenheim and Nelson locations.

About district health board elections
In New Zealand, local elections are held every three years for district health boards and councils.

The elections are conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000. The Nelson and Tasman and Marlborough District Councils conduct the NMDHB election on its behalf, by postal vote.

The next local election will be held in 2019.

Jenny BlackJenny Black (Chair)

This is Jenny's fourth term on the board and third term as Chair. She started her career as a dietician in Nelson in 1982 and gained her understanding of the 'healthy to illness' healthcare spectrum during her professional practice. 

Jenny believes in keeping people well, and where possible, providing healthcare as close to home as possible. She encourages people in the Nelson, Tasman and Marlborough regions to keep themselves in good health, live well and seek help when needed.

Jenny is also Chair of the West Coast District Health Board

Alan HintonAlan Hinton

Alan was appointed as Deputy Chair to the Board in 2016. It is his second term in this role on the Board. He currently chairs the Audit & Risk Committee and is a Hospital Advisory Committee member.

Alan has lived in Nelson for 35 years and for most of those was the principal in a Richmond Chartered Accountancy practice. He remains a member of Chartered Accountants ANZ and is also a member of the NZ Institute of Directors.

Apart from ongoing business consultancy work Alan enjoys mountain biking and exploring the Richmond hills. He and his wife prioritise time with their five children and nine grandchildren.


GeraldHopeGerald Hope

Gerald was the Mayor of Marlborough from 1998–2001 who served the Marlborough District Council for twelve years up to 2010.

During that time he chaired the community and financial planning committee, environment committee and sat on various council-owned trading entities.

Gerald is the Chair of the Hospital Advisory Committee.

Outside of his Nelson Marlborough Health roles, Gerald is Chief Executive of the Marlborough Research Centre and is a Cawthron Institute trustee. He has served many community organisations, including the Marlborough Hospice Trust.



Judy CroweJudy Crowe

Judy has been an elected member since 2004. She is Chair of the joint Community & Public Health Advisory Committee and Disability Support Advisory Committee, and Chair of the Nelson Marlborough Hospitals’ Charitable Trust.

Judy has raised seven children to adulthood in Nelson city. She started her career in the health field of dietetics, health education, consumer representation and advocacy, and is currently a self-employed image consultant and stylist.

Judy is passionate about a holistic approach to health, and committed to sound governance and financial practices to ensure the fair provision of health and disability support services.


Brigid ForrestBrigid Forrest

Brigid has given 25 years of medical service to the 'Top of the South', initially in general practice with obstetrics. She then retrained to become a community geriatrician working with the elderly to maintain their health and independence.

Brigid is currently a medical officer at Hospice Marlborough. She has served on school, community and local business advisory boards. Brigid has a strong community focus and believes in equitable health services for all.



Dawn McConnellDawn McConnell

Dawn spent 30 years as an employment relations specialist across New Zealand public sector agencies, including the Department of Maori Affairs, NZ Forest Service, State Services Commission and the Ministry of Defence – where she managed human resources.
Dawn is primarily interested in achieving better health outcomes for Maori, but recognises the need to ensure that these are achieved in co-operation with all health partners working to achieve better health outcomes for all people.

 Dawn was reappointed to the Board by the Minister of Health in 2016.

Jenny BlackJenny Black

Jenny's career spans healthcare and nursing with experience in the delivery and management of health services. She has held leadership roles with the Plunket Society, NZ Red Cross, Health Funding Authority, Capital & Coast District Health Board and Hospice Marlborough, all of which required strong advocacy and governance skills.

As the manager who established the Marlborough's hospice and palliative care service, she worked closely with her community to establish a high-quality service. Jenny says that community and hospital services are at their best when they work together to provide people with the care they need, when they need it and as close to home as possible.


Patrick SmithPatrick Smith

Patrick is one of the appointed board members and is in his third term. He is the deputy chair of the joint Community & Public Health Advisory Committee and Disability Support Advisory Committee.

Patrick is also a member of the Iwi Health Board that works in partnership with the main board. He was born and raised in Collingwood, educated at Te Aute College in Hawkes Bay and holds a business studies degree from Massey University. His iwi affiliations are Te Atiawa, Rangitane, Ngati Apa and Ngai Tahu.

Patrick's focus is to adopt a continuous improvement mindset across the health system and encourages responsibility for developing a workforce equipped for servicing communities' ever-changing health needs.

Allan PantingAllan Panting

Allan was elected to the Board in 2016. He retired from clinical practice in 2014 , having worked in Nelson for almost 35 years as a surgeon.

He has held numerous leadership roles in Nelson Marlborough regional health bodies  including terms as Secretary and President of the New Zealand Orthopaedic Association and Executive Director for Surgical Affairs NZ for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons.

He is also a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit and holds the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Colin McRae Medal.

Allan is a strong advocate of physical activity and has a passion for sport. He has completed half-marathons, marathons and many casual 10-kilometre runs, and is a keen cyclist.


Stephen VallanceStephen Vallance

Stephen was elected to the Board in 2016. He is a  retired general and vascular surgeon, who worked at Wairau Hospital in Blenheim for 24 years.

He has served on a number of professional and non-professional committees including as President of the New Zealand Association of General Surgeons.

Stephen spent five years working as a locum at mostly rural Australian hospitals, including a stint as a flying surgeon in Queensland.



Craig DenissCraig Dennis

Craig was appointed to the Board in 2016. He is a Chartered Accountant and partner at CFO on Call by CAD Partners.

Craig has lead multidisciplinary teams in various senior finance and general management roles – most recently as a programme director for Fairfax Media in New Zealand. In this role he led Fairfax’s ‘Results Delivery Office’ that was established to transform a print business into a predominantly digital business.

He has successfully navigated the highs and lows of a changing media industry and now enjoys applying 25 years of corporate management and governance experience to small and medium-sized enterprises as a ‘CFO for hire’.

He brings strong financial skills and business experience to the Board with experience in governance.

Contact details

Contact with the Board can be arranged through the Board office.